Objections and Responses

In this section I found it interesting how the person that was commenting about the process brought up the notion of choice, and it should be up to the student. At first I agreed with him thinking that that is how you get engagement from students and buy in to the whole idea. However, I know that with my students they will choose a topic that they find comfortable and something they already know something about. I agree with Egan that if the student is challenged to look at something they are unfamiliar with, they will look more creatively at it.

When I have done LiD in my classroom I challenge the students to find a connection to their own passions and wonders and linking them to their topic. I explain to my students this is the key to school and life. if you are able to connect subjects or topics in school to things you enjoy then it will not feel like work. I give an example of making my chores as a child into a game. For example vacuuming how fast can I do it and can I beat it the next time.

I did not see the relevance in the persons objection to the topics covering science and math, I feel the real strength in the topics is in the connection to what you are interested in, and that could connect it to PE and the arts.

I liked how Egan backed up his thoughts with the Kirkpatrick 1918 Project Method and the idea of choice.

